Search found 176 matches

by Ray Wilding
Fri Feb 09, 2018 2:46 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Friday 9th February 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 24)
Replies: 5
Views: 708

Re: Spoilers for Friday 9th February 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 24)

ORGIASM in R12
(9*5-5)*10+7-3 surprised Rachel missed that in the last numbers.
by Ray Wilding
Thu Feb 08, 2018 2:35 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Thursday 8th February 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 23)
Replies: 4
Views: 490

Spoilers for Thursday 8th February 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 23)

75*6+50*9+25+9 beating Rachel in the 3rd numbers.
by Ray Wilding
Wed Feb 07, 2018 2:31 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Wednesday 7th February 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 22)
Replies: 6
Views: 617

Re: Spoilers for Wednesday 7th February 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 22)

OUTSINGS in R7

(75+6+4)*10+9-2 an easier way in 3rd numbers.

(7*8-4)*2*7+5 another way in the last numbers.
by Ray Wilding
Thu Feb 01, 2018 2:26 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Thursday 1st February 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 18)
Replies: 7
Views: 627

Spoilers for Thursday 1st February 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 18)

MEDALISE in R4

((10+3)*8+4+25)*4 well after the time in the second numbers.
by Ray Wilding
Wed Jan 31, 2018 2:18 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Wednesday 31st January 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 17)
Replies: 2
Views: 605

Spoilers for Wednesday 31st January 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 17)

(25*3+7)*9-10+7, out of time in the first numbers.

They put a Y on SPOON, but not on POISON for POISONY in R7.
by Ray Wilding
Tue Jan 23, 2018 2:22 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Tuesday 23rd January 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 11)
Replies: 11
Views: 821

Spoilers for Tuesday 23rd January 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 11)

((10+4)*10+25)*5+9 for 834 during the break.
by Ray Wilding
Tue Jan 16, 2018 2:15 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Tuesday 16th January 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 6)
Replies: 7
Views: 859

Spoilers for Tuesday 16th January 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 6)

Surprised Susie didn't extend Mary's NOTATE to ANNOTATE in R1.
by Ray Wilding
Mon Jan 15, 2018 2:14 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Monday 15th January 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 5)
Replies: 6
Views: 784

Spoilers for Monday 15th January 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 5)

UNPRAISE an alt to PARVENUS in R1

JULIA a beater in R11
by Ray Wilding
Fri Jan 05, 2018 2:16 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Friday 5th January 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 4)
Replies: 9
Views: 827

Spoilers for Friday 5th January 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 4)

SUPERATE in R2

LEVATOR in R4, I didn't get the 8.
by Ray Wilding
Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:44 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Wednesday 3rd January 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 2)
Replies: 13
Views: 947

Re: Spoilers for Wednesday 3rd January 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 2)

Can anyone explain to me why ROMANITE and TIMEOUT are allowed? Because ROMANITE has a capital R and TIMEOUT is two separate words. ROMANITE is under RUMANITE https://en.oxforddictionaries.com/definition/rumanite While not visible in the free ODO, TIMEOUT should appear as one word for definition 1.1...
by Ray Wilding
Tue Jan 02, 2018 2:12 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Tuesday 2nd January 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 1)
Replies: 8
Views: 736

Spoilers for Tuesday 2nd January 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 1)

Kicking off the series while apterous is down...
by Ray Wilding
Fri Dec 22, 2017 3:29 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Friday 22nd December 2017 (Series 77, GRAND FINAL!)
Replies: 12
Views: 1216

Re: Spoilers for Friday 22nd December 2017 (Series 77, GRAND FINAL!)

If you considered the plurals of PSILOSIS and/or POLIOSIS to be PSILOSES or POLIOSES (though wiktionary gives both as uncountable) instead of PSILOSISES or POLIOSISES, either would give 8 in R4.
by Ray Wilding
Fri Dec 22, 2017 3:00 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Friday 22nd December 2017 (Series 77, GRAND FINAL!)
Replies: 12
Views: 1216

Re: Spoilers for Friday 22nd December 2017 (Series 77, GRAND FINAL!)

Great end to a great series, huge congratulations to Tom and commiserations to Bradley.
Tough conundrum at the end, especially as neither player has had it on Apterous.
by Ray Wilding
Thu Dec 21, 2017 2:10 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Thursday 21st December 2017 (Series 77, SF2)
Replies: 7
Views: 711

Spoilers for Thursday 21st December 2017 (Series 77, SF2)

Bradley Horrocks vs John Cowen

WOOFTER the offensive 7 in R1

GUIDEWAYS for 9 in R12
by Ray Wilding
Wed Dec 20, 2017 2:57 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Wednesday 20th December 2017 (Series 77, SF1)
Replies: 9
Views: 986

Re: Spoilers for Wednesday 20th December 2017 (Series 77, SF1)

Fantastic game, just one off the max for TCC I believe.

Noel playing with fire in the last numbers was great, very entertaining!
by Ray Wilding
Mon Dec 18, 2017 2:04 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Monday 18th December 2017 (Series 77, QF3)
Replies: 1
Views: 581

Spoilers for Monday 18th December 2017 (Series 77, QF3)

John Cowen vs Michael Pfeffer

MORULAE in R8
by Ray Wilding
Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:52 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Friday 15th December 2017 (Series 77, QF2)
Replies: 15
Views: 929

Re: Spoilers for Friday 15th December 2017 (Series 77, QF2)

God that was tense! Very nice speedy solve on a tough conundrum.
by Ray Wilding
Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:12 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Friday 15th December 2017 (Series 77, QF2)
Replies: 15
Views: 929

Spoilers for Friday 15th December 2017 (Series 77, QF2)

Bradley Horrocks vs James Kennedy

ARTERIAL the other 8 in R2
by Ray Wilding
Thu Dec 14, 2017 2:08 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Thursday 14th December 2017 (Series 77, QF1)
Replies: 3
Views: 630

Spoilers for Thursday 14th December 2017 (Series 77, QF1)

Tom Chafer-Cook vs Graeme Staples

SUASION in R1
by Ray Wilding
Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:49 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Fantasy Countdown (will contain series 77 spoilers)
Replies: 35
Views: 2952

Re: Fantasy Countdown (will contain series 77 spoilers)

I'll play it fast and loose...

Game 1: HIGHER
Game 2: HIGHER
Game 3: HIGHER
Game 4: HIGHER
Game 5: HIGHER
Game 6: HIGHER
Game 7: HIGHER
by Ray Wilding
Tue Dec 05, 2017 2:38 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Tuesday 5th December 2017
Replies: 3
Views: 480

Re: Spoilers for Tuesday 5th December 2017

VIRTUOSA the other beater in R5, being the same selection as Friday's R4
by Ray Wilding
Mon Dec 04, 2017 2:18 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Monday 4th December 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 108)
Replies: 7
Views: 828

Spoilers for Monday 4th December 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 108)

MANTEAUS a beater in R2
Nice solve by Bradley in R3
(50+1)*(7+5)-10 another solution in R6
Nice solve again in R14

Great set of 8 games, grats on #2 seed.
by Ray Wilding
Fri Dec 01, 2017 2:28 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Friday 1st December 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 107)
Replies: 6
Views: 943

Spoilers for Friday 1st December 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 107)

VIRTUOSA in R4

OPALESCED is a very impressive spot, those of us in chat only had PEDALOES/PLACODES.

(100-25-2)*10+50-4 another method in R9
by Ray Wilding
Thu Nov 30, 2017 2:25 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Thursday 30th November 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 106)
Replies: 6
Views: 817

Spoilers for Thursday 30th November 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 106)

SERRANOS in R4

A very high max this game with 4 nines available, all of them new.
EDIT: Actually AGISTMENT isn't new, so 5 nines available, 4 of them new.
by Ray Wilding
Thu Nov 23, 2017 1:07 am
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Wednesday 22nd November 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 101)
Replies: 8
Views: 1215

Re: Spoilers for Wednesday 22nd November 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 101)

I have guessed PALTRYMAN in the past too https://www.apterous.org/viewgame.php?g ... #r27803775 , it's a completely reasonable mistake to make.
by Ray Wilding
Mon Nov 13, 2017 2:29 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Monday 13th November 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 94)
Replies: 23
Views: 2329

Spoilers for Monday 13th November 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 94)

MODIFIER a beater in R5
SUSTAIN a beater in R11
by Ray Wilding
Fri Nov 10, 2017 2:37 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Friday 10th November 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 93)
Replies: 2
Views: 681

Spoilers for Friday 10th November 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 93)

The letters have been exceptionally flat so far...

And that's broken by rounds 10 and 11.

I make it 80 possible letters maxes in just 10 rounds, I wonder what the highest has ever been?
by Ray Wilding
Wed Nov 08, 2017 2:48 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Wednesday 8th November 2017
Replies: 7
Views: 809

Re: Spoilers for Wednesday 8th November 2017

BOGART and BIOWAR for beaters in R12

Confidently went for HUNDREDTH in the conundrum :oops:
by Ray Wilding
Mon Oct 30, 2017 2:35 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Monday 30th October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 84)
Replies: 9
Views: 1407

Spoilers for Monday 30th October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 84)

Rob was very unlucky with UNWISEST, something that is very obviously a word.

MADERISE in R11
by Ray Wilding
Wed Oct 25, 2017 1:24 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Wednesday 25th October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 81)
Replies: 1
Views: 645

Spoilers for Wednesday 25th October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 81)

Susie has been pretty inconsistent on MEDIAS. The usage note should make it fine, I believe.

ROSARIUM for an alt to ARMORIST in R10.
by Ray Wilding
Mon Oct 23, 2017 2:06 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Monday 23rd October 2017
Replies: 7
Views: 931

Re: Spoilers for Monday 23rd October 2017

Zarte Siempre wrote:
Mon Oct 23, 2017 1:48 pm
Surprised they missed FALSITIES when FALSIES and FALSEST had been mentioned.
Perhaps they missed it because it shouldn't be valid, FALSITY is a mass noun: https://en.oxforddictionaries.com/definition/falsity