Search found 125 matches

by Ray Wilding
Mon Nov 13, 2017 2:29 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Monday 13th November 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 94)
Replies: 15
Views: 724

Spoilers for Monday 13th November 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 94)

MODIFIER a beater in R5
SUSTAIN a beater in R11
by Ray Wilding
Fri Nov 10, 2017 2:37 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Friday 10th November 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 93)
Replies: 2
Views: 560

Spoilers for Friday 10th November 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 93)

The letters have been exceptionally flat so far...

And that's broken by rounds 10 and 11.

I make it 80 possible letters maxes in just 10 rounds, I wonder what the highest has ever been?
by Ray Wilding
Wed Nov 08, 2017 2:48 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Wednesday 8th November 2017
Replies: 7
Views: 614

Re: Spoilers for Wednesday 8th November 2017

BOGART and BIOWAR for beaters in R12

Confidently went for HUNDREDTH in the conundrum :oops:
by Ray Wilding
Mon Oct 30, 2017 2:35 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Monday 30th October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 84)
Replies: 8
Views: 732

Spoilers for Monday 30th October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 84)

Rob was very unlucky with UNWISEST, something that is very obviously a word.

MADERISE in R11
by Ray Wilding
Wed Oct 25, 2017 1:24 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Wednesday 25th October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 81)
Replies: 1
Views: 545

Spoilers for Wednesday 25th October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 81)

Susie has been pretty inconsistent on MEDIAS. The usage note should make it fine, I believe.

ROSARIUM for an alt to ARMORIST in R10.
by Ray Wilding
Mon Oct 23, 2017 2:06 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Monday 23rd October 2017
Replies: 7
Views: 774

Re: Spoilers for Monday 23rd October 2017

Zarte Siempre wrote:
Mon Oct 23, 2017 1:48 pm
Surprised they missed FALSITIES when FALSIES and FALSEST had been mentioned.
Perhaps they missed it because it shouldn't be valid, FALSITY is a mass noun: https://en.oxforddictionaries.com/definition/falsity
by Ray Wilding
Fri Oct 20, 2017 1:30 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Friday 20th October 2017
Replies: 5
Views: 924

Re: Spoilers for Friday 20th October 2017

Tried inferrals in R4, but it's not in.

DISORIENT in R13
by Ray Wilding
Wed Oct 18, 2017 2:10 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Wednesday 18th October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 76)
Replies: 12
Views: 943

Re: Spoilers for Wednesday 18th October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 76)

Zarte Siempre wrote:
Wed Oct 18, 2017 1:49 pm
BACONER in R13
There were two 7s in that round, but with no C, that wasn't one of them.
by Ray Wilding
Fri Oct 13, 2017 1:38 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Friday 13 October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 73)
Replies: 3
Views: 592

Re: Spoilers for Friday 13 October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 73)

I don't think she looks old enough, but it's a possibility.
Apterous allows IMPALAS because of its use in several of the example sentences, so IMPALAS for 7 in R8.
by Ray Wilding
Thu Oct 12, 2017 2:20 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Thursday 12th October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 72)
Replies: 10
Views: 998

Re: Spoilers for Thursday 12th October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 72)

OUTEARN is one of a subset of words that when typed without a hyphen take you to the US version without a hyphen.
by Ray Wilding
Tue Oct 10, 2017 1:26 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Tuesday 10th October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 70)
Replies: 0
Views: 393

Spoilers for Tuesday 10th October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 70)

REFLYING instead of flyering in R4

It can't be often that DC can't get beyond 3. ABOX for a 4 in that round.
by Ray Wilding
Fri Oct 06, 2017 1:44 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Friday 6th October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 68)
Replies: 5
Views: 835

Spoilers for Friday 6th October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 68)

Surprised Phil Hammond didn't come up with MEDSPEAK in R11

RELEASOR the alt to LOWERERS in R13
by Ray Wilding
Wed Oct 04, 2017 1:24 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Wednesday 4th October 2017 (series 77, prelim 66)
Replies: 10
Views: 1002

Re: Spoilers for Wednesday 4th October 2017 (series 77, prelim 66)

GOOGLIES in R4

It doesn't Zubair, DEFAMOUS was added in February.
by Ray Wilding
Wed Oct 04, 2017 1:16 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Wednesday 4th October 2017 (series 77, prelim 66)
Replies: 10
Views: 1002

Re: Spoilers for Wednesday 4th October 2017 (series 77, prelim 66)

Premium ODO strikes again by not having updates from several months ago.
by Ray Wilding
Mon Oct 02, 2017 1:39 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Monday 2 October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 64)
Replies: 7
Views: 973

Re: Spoilers for Monday 2 October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 64)

Got the 3rd numbers during the break ((50-2)*5+25+3)*3
by Ray Wilding
Thu Sep 28, 2017 1:20 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Thursday 28th September 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 62)
Replies: 7
Views: 1040

Spoilers for Thursday 28th September 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 62)

Out of time, but (25+2)*(10+10)+100-6 for 634.

I wonder how long FOOTSY has been given, it's not on apto atm.
by Ray Wilding
Tue Sep 26, 2017 1:18 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Tuesday 26th September 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 60)
Replies: 5
Views: 675

Spoilers for Tuesday 26th September 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 60)

DEFLATOR an alt to FORELAND in R1
MACHETES to beat MATCHES in R2
RADIALITY to beat TARDILY in R4
POINTELS an alt to NOVELIST in R5
AROUSING an alt to SUGARING in R10
by Ray Wilding
Mon Sep 25, 2017 1:53 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Monday 25th September 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 59)
Replies: 4
Views: 459

Re: Spoilers for Monday 25th September 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 59)

At least they didn't take the Ls from the consonant pile this time.
by Ray Wilding
Fri Sep 22, 2017 3:44 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Friday 22nd September 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 58)
Replies: 4
Views: 688

Re: Spoilers for Friday 22nd September 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 58)

It's also been a while since we've seen a Q in a letters game.
by Ray Wilding
Tue Sep 19, 2017 1:33 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Tuesday 19th September 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 55)
Replies: 5
Views: 880

Spoilers for Tuesday 19th September 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 55)

OUTRATED a beater in R7, and BIOGLAS to beat BIOGAS in R8.
by Ray Wilding
Mon Sep 18, 2017 10:35 am
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Tuesday 28 March 2017
Replies: 5
Views: 1586

Re: Spoilers for Tuesday 28 March 2017

Looks like JC forgot to overwrite the solution copy-pasted from the previous episode. There are only 4 solutions: (50 - 4) * 6 * 2 - 8 - 7 = 537 (50 - 6) * (8 + 4) + 7 + 2 = 537 (50 * 7 + 8) * 6 / 4 = 537 (50 * 6 + 8) * 7 / 4 - 2 = 537 I'm guessing it was one of the first two, and I think it was pro...
by Ray Wilding
Fri Sep 15, 2017 12:40 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Friday 15th September 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 53)
Replies: 4
Views: 677

Re: Spoilers for Friday 15th September 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 53)

Ray Wilding wrote:
Fri Sep 15, 2017 12:07 pm
It sounded like GROVEL to me, I'll check back later.
GROVEL it is.
by Ray Wilding
Fri Sep 15, 2017 12:07 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Friday 15th September 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 53)
Replies: 4
Views: 677

Re: Spoilers for Friday 15th September 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 53)

It sounded like GROVEL to me, I'll check back later.
50*2+75+10 for the easy method in R9
by Ray Wilding
Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:47 am
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Friday 15th September 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 53)
Replies: 4
Views: 677

Spoilers for Friday 15th September 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 53)

An early start today (which I didn't know about until yesterday).
by Ray Wilding
Tue Sep 05, 2017 1:16 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Tuesday 5th September 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 45)
Replies: 5
Views: 742

Spoilers for Tuesday 5th September 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 45)

LINESMAN a beater in R2

WOMBED is in but TOMBED isn't. :roll:
by Ray Wilding
Mon Sep 04, 2017 1:48 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Monday 4th September 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 44)
Replies: 2
Views: 795

Spoilers for Monday 4th September 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 44)

ADENOUS or DOUANES for beaters in R12

Also, how did that guy miss 950??
by Ray Wilding
Fri Sep 01, 2017 1:28 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Friday 1st September 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 43)
Replies: 1
Views: 614

Spoilers for Friday 1st September 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 43)

9*6*5*2-25 in R6

A deceptively difficult 2L in R9 - good luck to anyone trying to solve it.
by Ray Wilding
Thu Aug 31, 2017 10:04 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Thursday 31 August 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 42)
Replies: 6
Views: 923

Re: Spoilers for Thursday 31 August 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 42)

You can edit the title by editing the posts.
by Ray Wilding
Tue Aug 29, 2017 1:36 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Tuesday 29th August 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 40)
Replies: 6
Views: 715

Re: Spoilers for Tuesday 29th August 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 40)

100+(9+7+1)*8 for another method to 236 in R9
by Ray Wilding
Tue Aug 29, 2017 1:21 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Tuesday 29th August 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 40)
Replies: 6
Views: 715

Re: Spoilers for Tuesday 29th August 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 40)

TOOLSHEDS I think is the first TTT in a long time to not be an ascension conundrum.
by Ray Wilding
Mon Aug 28, 2017 1:20 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Bank Holiday Monday 28th August 2017
Replies: 3
Views: 679

Spoilers for Bank Holiday Monday 28th August 2017

(75-50/25)*10+3 for a simpler method in R3.
by Ray Wilding
Wed Aug 23, 2017 2:18 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Wednesday 23 August 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 37)
Replies: 3
Views: 744

Re: Spoilers for Wednesday 23 August 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 37)

(25*9-7)*4-3 an alt method in R6
100+75-25*8*3/50 an alt method in R9
by Ray Wilding
Thu Aug 17, 2017 1:17 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Thursday 17th August 2017
Replies: 3
Views: 682

Spoilers for Thursday 17th August 2017

HELLIONS in R2
by Ray Wilding
Tue Aug 15, 2017 1:25 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Tuesday, 15th August 2017
Replies: 16
Views: 969

Re: Spoilers for Tuesday, 15th August 2017

ADORNATE in R4
by Ray Wilding
Fri Aug 11, 2017 1:34 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Friday 11th August 2017
Replies: 18
Views: 1792

Spoilers for Friday 11th August 2017

VIRAEMIC to beat VIREMIA in R8.
by Ray Wilding
Wed Aug 09, 2017 10:26 pm
Forum: Countdown - General
Topic: Best 9 of all time
Replies: 17
Views: 3123

Re: Best 9 of all time

By sheer unlikelihood, MYOGLOBIN (which has never occurred in normal on apterous) is surely best.

UNITARIOS is damn impressive given the very short time it was valid for.
by Ray Wilding
Wed Aug 09, 2017 1:26 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Wednesday 9 August 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 27)
Replies: 9
Views: 743

Re: Spoilers for Wednesday 9 August 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 27)

Zarte Siempre wrote:
Wed Aug 09, 2017 1:15 pm
ASTROITES in R1 as a beater.
Zarte Siempre wrote:
Wed Aug 09, 2017 1:24 pm
FAIRLEADS as a R4 beater.
I had both of these but your posts were too quick for me.