Search found 160 matches

by Ray Wilding
Tue Jan 16, 2018 2:15 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Tuesday 16th January 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 6)
Replies: 7
Views: 401

Spoilers for Tuesday 16th January 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 6)

Surprised Susie didn't extend Mary's NOTATE to ANNOTATE in R1.
by Ray Wilding
Mon Jan 15, 2018 2:14 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Monday 15th January 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 5)
Replies: 6
Views: 395

Spoilers for Monday 15th January 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 5)

UNPRAISE an alt to PARVENUS in R1

JULIA a beater in R11
by Ray Wilding
Fri Jan 05, 2018 2:16 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Friday 5th January 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 4)
Replies: 9
Views: 666

Spoilers for Friday 5th January 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 4)

SUPERATE in R2

LEVATOR in R4, I didn't get the 8.
by Ray Wilding
Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:44 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Wednesday 3rd January 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 2)
Replies: 13
Views: 746

Re: Spoilers for Wednesday 3rd January 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 2)

Can anyone explain to me why ROMANITE and TIMEOUT are allowed? Because ROMANITE has a capital R and TIMEOUT is two separate words. ROMANITE is under RUMANITE https://en.oxforddictionaries.com/definition/rumanite While not visible in the free ODO, TIMEOUT should appear as one word for definition 1.1...
by Ray Wilding
Tue Jan 02, 2018 2:12 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Tuesday 2nd January 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 1)
Replies: 8
Views: 594

Spoilers for Tuesday 2nd January 2018 (Series 78, Prelim 1)

Kicking off the series while apterous is down...
by Ray Wilding
Fri Dec 22, 2017 3:29 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Friday 22nd December 2017 (Series 77, GRAND FINAL!)
Replies: 12
Views: 1039

Re: Spoilers for Friday 22nd December 2017 (Series 77, GRAND FINAL!)

If you considered the plurals of PSILOSIS and/or POLIOSIS to be PSILOSES or POLIOSES (though wiktionary gives both as uncountable) instead of PSILOSISES or POLIOSISES, either would give 8 in R4.
by Ray Wilding
Fri Dec 22, 2017 3:00 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Friday 22nd December 2017 (Series 77, GRAND FINAL!)
Replies: 12
Views: 1039

Re: Spoilers for Friday 22nd December 2017 (Series 77, GRAND FINAL!)

Great end to a great series, huge congratulations to Tom and commiserations to Bradley.
Tough conundrum at the end, especially as neither player has had it on Apterous.
by Ray Wilding
Thu Dec 21, 2017 2:10 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Thursday 21st December 2017 (Series 77, SF2)
Replies: 7
Views: 608

Spoilers for Thursday 21st December 2017 (Series 77, SF2)

Bradley Horrocks vs John Cowen

WOOFTER the offensive 7 in R1

GUIDEWAYS for 9 in R12
by Ray Wilding
Wed Dec 20, 2017 2:57 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Wednesday 20th December 2017 (Series 77, SF1)
Replies: 9
Views: 856

Re: Spoilers for Wednesday 20th December 2017 (Series 77, SF1)

Fantastic game, just one off the max for TCC I believe.

Noel playing with fire in the last numbers was great, very entertaining!
by Ray Wilding
Mon Dec 18, 2017 2:04 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Monday 18th December 2017 (Series 77, QF3)
Replies: 1
Views: 527

Spoilers for Monday 18th December 2017 (Series 77, QF3)

John Cowen vs Michael Pfeffer

MORULAE in R8
by Ray Wilding
Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:52 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Friday 15th December 2017 (Series 77, QF2)
Replies: 15
Views: 799

Re: Spoilers for Friday 15th December 2017 (Series 77, QF2)

God that was tense! Very nice speedy solve on a tough conundrum.
by Ray Wilding
Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:12 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Friday 15th December 2017 (Series 77, QF2)
Replies: 15
Views: 799

Spoilers for Friday 15th December 2017 (Series 77, QF2)

Bradley Horrocks vs James Kennedy

ARTERIAL the other 8 in R2
by Ray Wilding
Thu Dec 14, 2017 2:08 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Thursday 14th December 2017 (Series 77, QF1)
Replies: 3
Views: 572

Spoilers for Thursday 14th December 2017 (Series 77, QF1)

Tom Chafer-Cook vs Graeme Staples

SUASION in R1
by Ray Wilding
Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:49 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Fantasy Countdown (will contain series 77 spoilers)
Replies: 35
Views: 2598

Re: Fantasy Countdown (will contain series 77 spoilers)

I'll play it fast and loose...

Game 1: HIGHER
Game 2: HIGHER
Game 3: HIGHER
Game 4: HIGHER
Game 5: HIGHER
Game 6: HIGHER
Game 7: HIGHER
by Ray Wilding
Tue Dec 05, 2017 2:38 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Tuesday 5th December 2017
Replies: 3
Views: 436

Re: Spoilers for Tuesday 5th December 2017

VIRTUOSA the other beater in R5, being the same selection as Friday's R4
by Ray Wilding
Mon Dec 04, 2017 2:18 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Monday 4th December 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 108)
Replies: 7
Views: 771

Spoilers for Monday 4th December 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 108)

MANTEAUS a beater in R2
Nice solve by Bradley in R3
(50+1)*(7+5)-10 another solution in R6
Nice solve again in R14

Great set of 8 games, grats on #2 seed.
by Ray Wilding
Fri Dec 01, 2017 2:28 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Friday 1st December 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 107)
Replies: 6
Views: 876

Spoilers for Friday 1st December 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 107)

VIRTUOSA in R4

OPALESCED is a very impressive spot, those of us in chat only had PEDALOES/PLACODES.

(100-25-2)*10+50-4 another method in R9
by Ray Wilding
Thu Nov 30, 2017 2:25 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Thursday 30th November 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 106)
Replies: 6
Views: 763

Spoilers for Thursday 30th November 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 106)

SERRANOS in R4

A very high max this game with 4 nines available, all of them new.
EDIT: Actually AGISTMENT isn't new, so 5 nines available, 4 of them new.
by Ray Wilding
Thu Nov 23, 2017 1:07 am
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Wednesday 22nd November 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 101)
Replies: 8
Views: 1154

Re: Spoilers for Wednesday 22nd November 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 101)

I have guessed PALTRYMAN in the past too https://www.apterous.org/viewgame.php?g ... #r27803775 , it's a completely reasonable mistake to make.
by Ray Wilding
Mon Nov 13, 2017 2:29 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Monday 13th November 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 94)
Replies: 23
Views: 2129

Spoilers for Monday 13th November 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 94)

MODIFIER a beater in R5
SUSTAIN a beater in R11
by Ray Wilding
Fri Nov 10, 2017 2:37 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Friday 10th November 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 93)
Replies: 2
Views: 657

Spoilers for Friday 10th November 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 93)

The letters have been exceptionally flat so far...

And that's broken by rounds 10 and 11.

I make it 80 possible letters maxes in just 10 rounds, I wonder what the highest has ever been?
by Ray Wilding
Wed Nov 08, 2017 2:48 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Wednesday 8th November 2017
Replies: 7
Views: 740

Re: Spoilers for Wednesday 8th November 2017

BOGART and BIOWAR for beaters in R12

Confidently went for HUNDREDTH in the conundrum :oops:
by Ray Wilding
Mon Oct 30, 2017 2:35 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Monday 30th October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 84)
Replies: 9
Views: 1338

Spoilers for Monday 30th October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 84)

Rob was very unlucky with UNWISEST, something that is very obviously a word.

MADERISE in R11
by Ray Wilding
Wed Oct 25, 2017 1:24 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Wednesday 25th October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 81)
Replies: 1
Views: 610

Spoilers for Wednesday 25th October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 81)

Susie has been pretty inconsistent on MEDIAS. The usage note should make it fine, I believe.

ROSARIUM for an alt to ARMORIST in R10.
by Ray Wilding
Mon Oct 23, 2017 2:06 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Monday 23rd October 2017
Replies: 7
Views: 865

Re: Spoilers for Monday 23rd October 2017

Zarte Siempre wrote:
Mon Oct 23, 2017 1:48 pm
Surprised they missed FALSITIES when FALSIES and FALSEST had been mentioned.
Perhaps they missed it because it shouldn't be valid, FALSITY is a mass noun: https://en.oxforddictionaries.com/definition/falsity
by Ray Wilding
Fri Oct 20, 2017 1:30 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Friday 20th October 2017
Replies: 5
Views: 1014

Re: Spoilers for Friday 20th October 2017

Tried inferrals in R4, but it's not in.

DISORIENT in R13
by Ray Wilding
Wed Oct 18, 2017 2:10 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Wednesday 18th October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 76)
Replies: 15
Views: 1811

Re: Spoilers for Wednesday 18th October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 76)

Zarte Siempre wrote:
Wed Oct 18, 2017 1:49 pm
BACONER in R13
There were two 7s in that round, but with no C, that wasn't one of them.
by Ray Wilding
Fri Oct 13, 2017 1:38 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Friday 13 October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 73)
Replies: 3
Views: 690

Re: Spoilers for Friday 13 October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 73)

I don't think she looks old enough, but it's a possibility.
Apterous allows IMPALAS because of its use in several of the example sentences, so IMPALAS for 7 in R8.
by Ray Wilding
Thu Oct 12, 2017 2:20 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Thursday 12th October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 72)
Replies: 10
Views: 1185

Re: Spoilers for Thursday 12th October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 72)

OUTEARN is one of a subset of words that when typed without a hyphen take you to the US version without a hyphen.
by Ray Wilding
Tue Oct 10, 2017 1:26 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Tuesday 10th October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 70)
Replies: 0
Views: 460

Spoilers for Tuesday 10th October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 70)

REFLYING instead of flyering in R4

It can't be often that DC can't get beyond 3. ABOX for a 4 in that round.
by Ray Wilding
Fri Oct 06, 2017 1:44 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Friday 6th October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 68)
Replies: 5
Views: 999

Spoilers for Friday 6th October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 68)

Surprised Phil Hammond didn't come up with MEDSPEAK in R11

RELEASOR the alt to LOWERERS in R13
by Ray Wilding
Wed Oct 04, 2017 1:24 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Wednesday 4th October 2017 (series 77, prelim 66)
Replies: 10
Views: 1172

Re: Spoilers for Wednesday 4th October 2017 (series 77, prelim 66)

GOOGLIES in R4

It doesn't Zubair, DEFAMOUS was added in February.
by Ray Wilding
Wed Oct 04, 2017 1:16 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Wednesday 4th October 2017 (series 77, prelim 66)
Replies: 10
Views: 1172

Re: Spoilers for Wednesday 4th October 2017 (series 77, prelim 66)

Premium ODO strikes again by not having updates from several months ago.
by Ray Wilding
Mon Oct 02, 2017 1:39 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Monday 2 October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 64)
Replies: 7
Views: 1110

Re: Spoilers for Monday 2 October 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 64)

Got the 3rd numbers during the break ((50-2)*5+25+3)*3
by Ray Wilding
Thu Sep 28, 2017 1:20 pm
Forum: Countdown - Spoilers
Topic: Spoilers for Thursday 28th September 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 62)
Replies: 7
Views: 1179

Spoilers for Thursday 28th September 2017 (Series 77, Prelim 62)

Out of time, but (25+2)*(10+10)+100-6 for 634.

I wonder how long FOOTSY has been given, it's not on apto atm.